Chicago Chapter

Date of Chartering Jun 22, 1998

Archdiocese of Chicago Archbishop Blase J. Cupich

President David Brochu

Chapter Chaplain Father Andrew Wawrzyn


Chapter History

On June 22, 1998, Michael Jordan was on the cover of TIME, the Cubs lost to the Phillies and the Sox lost to the Twins, and the Chicago Symphony recovered a prized $1,000,000 viola almost two years after their principal violist left it on the curb while loading some things in the trunk of his car. Just another day in the Windy City…but for one special event.

At 6 o’clock that evening a group of Chicago Catholic business executives and their spouses assembled to celebrate the chartering of Legatus’ Chicago Chapter. The Mass was concelebrated by Auxiliary Bishop Timothy Lyne, Fr. Dudley Day (the chapter’s founding chaplain), and Fr. George Rutler, Legatus’ national chaplain.

After wards, 115 Legates and guests heard Cardinal Francis George and Tom Monaghan address them, encouraging chapter president John Hunt to lead the chapter in the spirit and mission of Legatus.

As program chair, the late Tom Roeser helped the chapter twice win the Campbell Award for program excellence. Over the years, the chapter has enjoyed presentations by such noted presenters as Bishop Fabian Bruskewitz, Fr. Benedict Groeschel, Fr. Robert Spitzer, Admiral Jeremiah Denton, Dr. Bernard Nathanson, Sr. Rosalind Moss, George Weigel, and Edwin Meese.

In 2010, the Chicago Chapter traveled to Rome. A year later, they hosted the 2011 Legatus Summit in Naples, Florida. The chapter has also been instrumental in organizing the 2011–2012 Legatus National Eucharistic Adoration Initiative.

legatuschicagoThe Chicago Chapter of Legatus was consecrated to the Immaculate Heart of Mary on May 24, 2012

We welcome you to learn more about the Legatus Chicago chapter, including monthly meetings and other activities, by following us on your favorite social media platform.
Click here to send us an email


Chapter Officers

President: David Brochu
Treasurer: Tom Simon
Past President: Mark Balasa
Membership Chair: Michael Romano
Membership Vice-Chair: Therese Romano
Program Chair: Fred Williams
Program Vice-Chair: Donna Williams
Directors: Pat McCaskey
Ben Ruf
Linda Ruf
Peter Tomaselli
Carol Tomaselli

Chapter Chaplain

Father Andrew Wawrzyn
Pastor, St. Alphonsus Parish
Learn More

Chapter Administrator

Mary Pat Fahy

Regional Director

Amy Dillon
No event found!
No news found!