Des Moines Chapter

Date of Chartering Dec 13, 2001

Diocese of Des Moines Bishop Richard E. Pates

President Scott Prickett

Chapter Chaplain Monsignor Frank Bognanno


Chapter History

The first informational meeting for Catholic business leaders interested in forming a Des Moines Chapter of Legatus was held in June 2000, hosted by Bob and Pat Gilligan, Mike and Jane LaMair, and Monsignor Michael Hess. They were assisted and encouraged by Dan Mulvihill of Legatus’ San Diego Chapter.

Their work bore fruit and after an extended period of discernment and recruitment, the Des Moines Chapter was chartered on December 13, 2001 — Legatus’ 29th chartering — at a Mass and investiture ceremony held at St. Francis of Assisi Church. Des Moines Bishop Joseph L. Charron was the main celebrant and was assisted by Monsignor Hess, who served as chapter chaplain.

Charter officers installed at the Mass were: Joseph Teeling, president; Robert Galligan, vice president; James Willer, membership chair; Mark Lyons, program chair; James Wallace, secretary; and Chuck Haas, treasurer.

Following the Mass and chartering ceremony, a gala dinner reception and program were held at the home of Joseph and Leslie Teeling. Legatus Central Region director Tom McDonald joined Bishop Charron at the podium. Bishop Charron expressed gratitude to the members and offered his support for their work, promising to join the members often. In his remarks, Bishop Charron reiterated the challenge to all members to serve as ambassadors for Christ, and the importance of doing so in humility.



Chapter Officers

President: Scott Prickett
Vice-President: Joe Teeling
Treasurer: Terry McGonegle
Secretary: Annie Doyle
Membership Chair: Don Lamberti
Membership Vice-Chair: Rick Ball
Program Chair: Ron Grubb
Program Vice-Chair: Amber Prickett

Chapter Chaplain

Monsignor Frank Bognanno
Pastor, Christ the King Parish
Learn More

Chapter Coordinator

Dawn Ogden
3131 SW 5th Street
Des Moines, IA 50315

Regional Director

Ken Darnell
No event found!
No news found!